One Family's Quest to Eat Local Ingredients

1st Local Shopping Trip

In Local Shopping Trips on May 12, 2011 at 1:44 pm

On my way home today, I decided to stop by a small local flower/farm market store.  The owners have several greenhouses and start organically grown produce when there is still snow on the ground. They also own a farm and grow their produce and bring it to their flower store.   It is located close to my home, which makes it very convenient.    They haven’t officially opened their farm market stand yet, but I thought maybe….just maybe….I would get lucky and they would have something delicious!  I’m craving anything at this point! 

This is what I found…..

My Lucky Day

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I asked the store owner if she had any lettuce.  She said she did and some green beans (these were amazingly long and looked awesome, but I still have some in the deep freezer I need to use first) and “only a couple zucchini and a cucumber.”  I was so excited!  It has been so long since I had a farm fresh cucumber.  I know it sounds silly, but if you haven’t had vegetables fresh from the farm its a totally different experience.  I really didn’t like vegetables until I learned what they REALLY taste like!  Off season vegetables grown hundreds of miles away from where you purchase them just doesn’t taste like much of anything! 

Okay, off my soap box now.

I was able to purchase ….

1 organic zucchini squash (will post recipe for what I did with this and the yellow one) $1

1 organic yellow squash $1

1 organic cucumber $1

1 large pkg. of organic salad mix $2.99 (Large enough we all ate it for dinner and have plenty more)

Total purchase $5.99

When I got home, my family thought it was Christmas (okay  my husband more than the kids), maybe they will like our local lifestyle after all?

Leave a Reply

