One Family's Quest to Eat Local Ingredients

Why Go Off the Grocery Grid??- Part 1 and Reading List

In Rules on May 14, 2011 at 9:10 am

A few years ago, I was at a friend’s house for a playdate and she was talking about a book call “Chew on This” by Eric Schlosser.  (A highly recommended read–quick and easy).  She was telling how it was written toward teenagers to defer them from  eating fast food.  I thought it sounded interesting but really never thought I would have the desire to change my eating habits.  I thought I was eating healthy!  Anyway, this book had me hooked.  I wanted to read more, find out more, and see if what he said in this book was actually true.  I decided to read his book geared for adults called “Fast Food Nation.”  Again hooked, I couldn’t put it down.  The way that food is processed in this country is absolutely appalling! 

I started to reserach a little deeper and came upon Michael Pollen’s work.  I read several of his books  “Ominvore’s Delimma”, “In Defense of Food”, and “Food Rules.”   Again, similar stories of disgusting living conditions for animals, genetically modified seeds so that produce can be sprayed and sprayed with pesticides.  This way  it will still grow but everything around it is left for dead,  food that is constructed in a lab instead of grown like it was intended.  They are like reading a thriller novel to me, except that it’s real and I’m putting these foods in my body!  I really started pondering the origin of my food.  He also got me thinking that I’m voting with my $$ as to how food should be produced for my family. 

After digesting this information, making some minor changes but still living in my chaotic world, someone gave my husband the book The 7 Pillar’s of Health by Dr. Colbert after he was diagnosed with high cholsetrol.  Being the reader, that I obviously am, I decided to read it too not expecting nutrition to be such a vital part of the book.  Dr. Colbert starts giving a lot of the same information that the other books that I read.  Now, I’m starting to think that this is not one or two authors who may or may not work together but these people are onto something.

So, I pick up the book “Empowering Your Health” by Asa Andrews.  Again another author, saying the same things about the food system in this country.  Unlike any other country, even our undernurished are overweight.

Then one day I was in the library and sitting on a shelf was the book “What to Eat” by Marion Nestle.    This book is quite large, but I had to read it.  She takes every aisle of the grocery store and breaks down what you should put in your body and what should be left behind.  Another fasinating read that got me thinking that I don’t want to eat products, I want to eat food!  I want to eat food that does not have a chemistry lab for an ingredients list.  Food that I can trace it’s origin.  Animals that were raised in a way that makes them safe to eat.

My readings led me to videos.  It’s one thing to read about something, but to see it now that’s motivating.  More of why we decided to try going off the grocery grid later…

Leave a Reply

