One Family's Quest to Eat Local Ingredients

Local Shopping Trip Update

In Local Shopping Trips on May 22, 2011 at 12:59 pm

I’ve been trying to do a pantry challenge and use up what is in my cabinets and deep freezer.  But, it is finally warm and glorious and I did need a few things from the store so I stopped at the farm stand that is near my home.  She had set up the produce stand now and said she has been crazy busy!  I didn’t get any photos (I have to get better about remembering).  She was out of lettuce (bummer!) but said she would pick later in the week and save me 2 bags.  I did get some zucchini, yellow squash and cucumber—all organic and all grown in their greemhouse!  I also bought 1 four pack of eggplants and 1 more cucumber plant for our garden (more on that later).  Both plants were grown from organic seed and in organic soil.  My kids have enjoyed growing their own veggie plants from seed, but this weather has been so cold, wet and rainy that the sprouts have not done well and we had to rely some on our friends this farm stand to help us with some strong plants started in a greenhouse.

I’m going back Thursday to see what else she has.

Strawberries should be coming soon!

Leave a Reply

