One Family's Quest to Eat Local Ingredients

Meal Plan Monday- June 6

In Menu Plan Monday on June 6, 2011 at 4:58 am

Whew!  I have had a couple of very busy weeks that have totally kept me away from home and the computer!  Everything has piled up and it’s time to play catch up!  I haven’t been to the farmers market yet but plan on going today and Wednesday to 3 (one a mile from here, the mennonite farm not far from here, and one in the next town I have never been to (the market that is)).   I did get to strawberry pick and will be posting all the great things you can do with strawberries!  (We picked 35 lbs)!

Let’s start with dinners….

Monday:  Homemade pizza with roasted red peppers and spinach

Tuesday: Sloppy Lasagna

Wednesday:  Mexican Beans and Rice

Thursday:  Italian Green Been Chicken

Friday:  Red Quinoa (pronounced KEEN-WA) with black beans and corn

Saturday:  Grill Out  with a green bean/cherry tomato side dish

Sunday:  I’m thinking fresh salmon with a honey dijon glaze on the grill  with what ever wonderful I can get at the farmers market

Lunches:

Monday-  Mozzarella Cheese Sticks (okay it’s processed and far far far from local, but it was in the deep freezer and I’m way behind and it was easy to feed the kids with the fresh strawberries that were local!)

Tuesday-  Roasted Red Pepper Hummus with fruit (whatever I can find at a farmers market)

Wednesday-  German Potato Salad (I have been craving this forever) with fruit

Thursday- Friday– I’m going to make a large pasta salad with fresh ingredients that will last a couple of days.

Saturday-  Pizza Quesadillas

Breakfast:

Monday- we just had toast (see above about the craziness around here!) 🙂

Tuesday-Wednesday  Tomato Spinach Quiche

Thursday-Friday Strawberry Muffins and Strawberry Smoothies!

Saturday-Oatmeal or cereal

We’ll see how this pans out since I’m trying a plan before the market trips.  I’m wondering if I will get there and get an inspiration? Hmmmm…..  Check back for recipe posts!

Leave a Reply

